The 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup takes place in India across October and November 2023. Below we have put together a need-to-know guide to ensure you’re fully across this marathon sporting event.

Who is hosting the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup?

The host nation is India. This will be the fourth time they have hosted the competition, but more significantly, it will be the first time they’ve hosted it on their own. The World Cups held in 1987, 1996, and 2011, were jointly hosted with other nations in Asia.

Who is competing at the 2023 Cricket World Cup?

The ten nations competing at the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup are India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, England, and the Netherlands.

India is the betting favorite to win at +200, with Australia at +350 and England at +500. When betting on sports like cricket, it’s important to know certain trends. The host nation has won the last three competitions, which is why most sports predictions on this event are expecting India to win.

This is largely due to cricket pitch conditions varying over different countries. Competitions held in Asian countries tend to favor the Asian nations, as their players perform better in those conditions. India already has one of the strongest sides in the tournament. Throw home conditions into the equation as well, and it’s easy to see why they are the favorites with the bookmakers.

Who are the Cricket World Cup defending Champions?

The defending champions are England. In 2019, Eoin Morgan led the English to a Super Over win against New Zealand in one of the most enthralling finals in the history of the sport.

What Indian cities are hosting the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup fixtures?

Ten Indian cities will be hosting matches across the 2023 Cricket World Cup. They are Ahmedabad, Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Dharamshala, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, and Pune.

By far the largest ground in the competition is the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. This is the biggest cricket ground in the world, boasting a 135,000 capacity. It will also be the venue for the final held in November.

What format is the 2023 Cricket World Cup played in?

The 2023 Cricket World Cup is being played in a round-robin group format. The ten teams will all play each other once, with the top four advancing to straight knockout in the semi-finals. This is the same format used for the 2019 World Cup in England, and also for the 1992 edition in Australia and New Zealand. 

Arguments in favor of the format are that it generates revenue because it guarantees an India vs. Pakistan clash, and it usually results in the best teams making it through to the last four.

However, it is a much-criticized format, as it limits the number of affiliate nations who can qualify, which slows down growth in the game around the world outside of the elite teams.

There will be a total of 48 matches played in the 2023 Cricket World Cup. The breakdown is 45 in the group stage, two semi-finals, and the final, held on Sunday, November 19th.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *